Celebrations: April 7

April 5, 2011


• The following North Shore students made the fall semester dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee: from Bayside, Ami Lev-Chai Blasberg, Christopher Murphy, Kayleigh Rappaport, Rebecca Starrett, David Straub, Monika Walbergh and Joseph Waldman; from Brown Deer, Julie Abraham, Deborah Boateng, Sara Carey, Karl Cleppe, Elizabeth Crawford, Ashley Daniels, Rhys Genske, Max Grafwallner, Elizabeth Gress, Darnisha Harper, Keelin McMurtagh, Natalie Paly, Alexandra Raspante, Holly Reeves, Christopher Siegel, Ashley Thor, Rachael Tregler and Jason Wrigley; from Fox Point, Ahmad Mohammad Alkandari, Sarah Alt, Nicholas Bloomquist, Sara Duffney and Dana Peterson; from Glendale, Trevor Adams, Jennifer Ahler, Mikhail Arndt, Shirley Chan, Benjamin Domer, Alex Grzybowski, Matt Hamacher, Elaina Josephson, Craig Krebsbach, Kelsey Miller, Meagan Miller, Kristin Neubauer, Joshua Parkes, Sushant Rana, Kamelah Reed, Emily Voss and Aleksey Yermakov; from Mequon, Dominic Amato, Alison Bayne, Michael Burke II, Christopher Butzen, Kathryn Fleming Campbell, Mark Cohen, Molly Cohen, Christopher Dott, Education Mary Downey, Jocelyn Fait, Ryan Frazier, Michael Gardner, Julie Grau, Jeffrey Haugen, Russell Haxton, Morgan Herum, Kimberly Hess, Andrew Hinkens, Zachary Hosale, Amanda Janczak, Zachary Karthauser, Kelsey Kaufmann, Michael Keenan, Daniel Kidd, Matthew Kluczinske, Robb Krasnow, Kristina Lak, Nate Larscheidt, Meghan Lawlis, Lenisa Lee, Melyssa La Macchia, Samuel Michelson, Abigail Navarro, John Neel, Kristina Antonovna Nenakhova, Mark Puchinsky, Shannon Quinlevan, Stephanie Semerda, Whitney Spaude, Jeffrey Szatkowski, Jennifer Thiet, Julia Wilson and Inna Zilberman; from Shorewood, Khaldoun Samir Abushousheh, Elaine Bennaton, Claudia Berlin, Jeremy Booth, Mollie Boutell, Elizabeth Long Boyd, Travis Brigham, Stephanie Carter, Jennifer Chappa, Joseph Cornejo, Kari Ehler, Nicholas Fairbanks, Alexander Foerster, Zachary Freding, Craig Furrer, Holland Galante, Leah Grant, Katrina Hancock, Michael Hartke, Patrick Heffernan, Stephanie Hesse, Benjamin Mollick Hirschman, Monica Hollingworth, Katelyn Hoppe, Nicole Hoyer, Cory Ihde, Nicholas Irving, Mohamad Areeb Al Mowakeh Al Khatib, Michael Kidd, Eugene Krakow, Lindsay Laur, Cuc Thi Kim Le, Debra Lewis, Michael Martinsen, Matthew McCallum, Kelly McClurg, Anthony Medora, Shannon Merkowitz, Elena Milovidova, David Kiprop Mugun, Matthew Mulligan, Matthew Olive, Natalie Otte, Lara Paches, Peter Papastamatiou, Elissa Paris, Caela St. Patrick, Jill Peterson, Jamie Pfeiffer, Dagong Ran, Emily Reul, Sarah Ruble, Emily Scher, Peter Schrammel, Geoffrey Severin, Alexandra Slay, Liliya Sokolova, Antoinette Pachelle Spencer, Paul Steidl, Amie Thimmesch, Jennifer Triolo, Emily Voldahl, Antonina Weber, Pehsapan Weso, Lee Xiong and Sarah Zens; from Theinsville, Anna Preobrazhenskaya, Tamara Safer, Ian Stelling and Lyndy Weyker; and from Whitefish Bay, Jessica Alter, Nicole Aterianus, Haley Butler, Charlotte Catalano, Cory Chappell, Lucas Caminiti Davey, Elizabeth Dick, Carlotta Generali, Anthony Gerlach, Ryan Grych, Elizabeth Harrington, Timothy Hensiek, Michelle Kindschi, Brady King, Nathan Koslakiewicz, Mary Kunath, Lara Lirely, Malyssa Ludwig, Michael Lukas, Sara Mapes, Colleen Peters, Ritvik Singh, Sarah Thien, Michael Tucker and Amber Lynn Vick.


• Sixteen teams from Nicolet High School were among the 70 teams competing at the southeastern Wisconsin regional competition for National History Day 2011 at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee on March 5. Students who will be representing Nicolet at the state competition May 7 in Madison: in group performance, Rachel Heuer and Alex Heuer, "Justice Harry Blackmun: Law and Medicine in Roe v. Wade"; in individual documentary, Magdalene Beck, "George F. Kennan and the Debate over United States Cold War Foreign Policy"; in group documentary, Rhea Stark and Sophie Cohen, "ERA: The Fight for Equality, 1970-1982" and Audrey Liang and Adrienne Evans, "Vietnam Veterans' Protest Songs"; in individual exhibit, Annie Schoenfeldt, "The Kohler Company Strike: 1934-1941" and Sara Miller, "Golda Meir: Arab-Israeli War of 1973"; in group exhibit, Ben Lawton and Alex Knaus, "The Sterling Hall Bombings"; in individual website, Evan Walsh, "Internment in the Dutch East Indies," Chris Welker, "The Effects of Violence on the Weather Underground," and Jeremy Koritzinksy, "Golda Meir: Immigrant to Diplomat"; and in group website, Michael Cohen and Stefan Peterson, "Terror in Munich: The 1972 Olympic Massacre Papers," and Hope Merens, "Vigilante Behavior and Anti-German Sentiment in Wisconsin During World War I." In addition, Annie Schoenfeldt was awarded a special prize for the best labor history project, and Amy Vanderhout was selected as the alternate for her individual exhibit, "The Nike Missile: In Your Backyard." Social studies teacher Phyllis Santacroce coordinated Nicolet's participation.

Got some good news to share? We want to hear all about it. Send your announcements to Celebrations/NOW Newspapers, 1741 Dolphin Drive, Suite A, Waukesha 53186; or to news@cninow.com.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Suburban News Roundup

E-mail Newsletter

Your link to the biggest stories in the suburbs delivered Thursday mornings.

Enter your e-mail address above and click "Sign Up Now!" to begin receiving your e-mail newsletter
Get the Newsletter!

Login or Register to manage all your newsletter preferences.

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries